March 2020 Delegate Report

Greetings Indiana Shooters!  

I assume everyone is looking forward to an early spring in Indiana so we can get this shooting season started.  I know I am!

I have a BIG correction to tell you about.  I incorrectly stated that all 3 Indiana Trapshooter’s Association Zone shoots would be held on the same weekend in May this year, and I was wrong about that for Roachdale!  Hopefully everyone doesn’t show up at Roachdale the wrong weekend.  I guess it will be a good test of who all actually reads this article!

Vincennes will host the South Zone, and St. Joe Valley the North Zone, on the weekend of May 15-17, 2020.  Roachdale will have the Central Zone on May 29-31.  Please plan to attend your Zone shoot to help support these Clubs and the ITA.  The Indiana State Shoot will be held July 7th-12th, 2020.  Evansville Gun Club will once again be a host site for the ATA Central Zone, July 31-August 2, 2020.  Then of course the Grand American will take place August 5-15.    

I would like to congratulate our 2019 Indiana All-State Teams!  This year it seemed the averages were closer than ever with just a bird or two determining positions and in a couple of places deciding who made the team and who didn’t.  Plus we had several that were just a 100 or so birds off from shooting the target minimums and that kept them off the team.  Get out and shoot and get those minimum’s in!

Congrats to the following:  

Men’s Open Team: Jason Seitz, Eric Shroyer, Devon Harris, CW Arnett, Michael Grannan, Bobby Bolden, Tom Kleyla, Tom Strabavy, Brian Ingle and Scott Chappell.  Sub-Vet Team: Tank Lunsford, Steve Byrd, Mike Williams, Bob Bowers, Bob Johns, George Oben, Tom Moore, Bill Mager, Stephen Byrns and Bernie Matthews.  Vet Team: Tom Neal, Garl Gresley, Mike Welte, Jerry Fosbrink, Ken Heathcoate, Al White, Jack Curry, Fred Abraham, Ben Morriston and John Fry.  Senior Vet Team: Vern Brown, Tom Antczak, Tom Rhoads, Bobby Hubble, George Needham, Bill Tempest, Gene Baxter, Jerry Brown, Michael Stephenson and Dr. R. Scott Norris.  Lady I Team: Christina Byrd, Jamie Taylor, Wendi Thompson.  Lady II Team: Terry Bolden.  Sub-Jr Team: Johnathon Seitz, Logan Ritchie and Colton Vail.  Junior Team: Noah Rice and Ethan Buck.  Jr Gold Team: Tyler Lewis.

Our High Average by Event winners this year was definitely close.  Congratulations to Tank Lunsford who had the high Singles average for the year with a 98.48% average, to Scott Cochran for Handicap with a 93.65% average, and to Jason Seitz with a 96.11% average for high in Doubles.  In order to be eligible for the High Average by Event, a shooter must shoot the minimum targets for the Men’s Team by event, which is 2500 Singles, 1500 Handicap or 1000 Doubles.  All of the Target Requirements for Indiana All-State Teams are published in our Indiana State Shoot program each year, and always feel free to ask me if you have any questions about the Teams.

I have a special message to pass along from Roxie Antczak, our ITA Spectator Experience Coordinator.  She writes “The 2020 ITA Spectator Experience committee is hard at work making plans for the Indiana State shoot.  Follow us on Facebook for up to the minute details.  Don’t forget to take advantage of our partnership with the Indianapolis Zoo and get your online ticket purchase discounts available all year. Email us for details.  We look forward to seeing everyone in July!”

Make sure you check out the Indiana trap website for a full listing of all of the Registered ATA shoots being held next spring & summer at clubs all over Indiana.  Please never forget without all of these Clubs this sport wouldn’t exist, get out and support them!!  

Don’t hesitate to let me know if you need anything or would like to have anything included in this article for Indiana.  

Jason Barnett, ATA Delegate – Indiana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.