October 2008 Delegate Report

The Grand is over for another year, and what a Grand it was.  The weather was perfect, the food was good, and a lot of good vendors were there.  I shot some good scores and some not-so-good scores.  I bought some shotgun related items that I am sure I have the same things at home.  But I just knew I needed them.  I have to say that this was one of the best Grand shoots that I have attended in a long time.  I really hated to see the Grand end.

I would like to congratulate all the Grand trophy winners from Indiana.  Whether you won a program trophy or a special medallion, it took some good shooting to do so.  They are: Robert Curtis, Carl Seib, Morris McCoskey, Jack Curry, William Anderson, Ron Morris, Cory Kreith, Morris Cornelius, John Gould, Tyler Maikranz, Paul Rode, Jr., Matt Perkins, Larry Ellis, Allen Kuhn, Wayne Duvall, Frank Scholz, Michael Ruggieri, Mary Lynne Downham, Devon Harris, John Roussel, Mike Cornelius, Gilbert Huffman, Maurice Stierwalt, Butch Thompson, Edgar Kuhlenschmidt, Wayne Downham, Michael Stephenson, Bobby Hubble, George Gresh, Stanley Kenny, Debbie Thompson, Tank Lunsford, Tim Krinn, Ron Lamping, Debra Cates, Harold Bowers, and Dusty Rhodes.  Indiana’s National Team Race Women finished second.  The women on that team were: Debra Cates, Debbie Thompson, Linda Lovell, Mary Lynne Downham, and Patricia Matthews.

There were some rule changes at the Board of Directors meeting held Thursday night, August 14.  The one that everyone, especially those in the Central Zone, was concerned about was the target year.  The target year was changed, but will not take effect immediately.  The current 2008 target year will end on October 31, 2008.  The 2009 target year will begin November 1, 2008 and end August 31, 2009, making the target year 10 months long.  From that point forward, the target year will run from September 1 to August 31.

Another change made was that targets shot after the Grand 2008 to Grand week 2009 will count for the 1000 target requirement, in order not to shoot penalty for the Grand.

During the target year a person can now receive up to three reductions per target year with a maximum of three yards.

Shooters can now be placed on the 18 or 19 yard line if they can not compete from the 20.

The Indiana State Shoot will be July 7, 2009 through July 12. 2009.  I hope everyone will mark your calendar and plan on attending our State Shoot.

Remember to support your local clubs.  The local clubs are the back bone of the ATA.  Most of the local clubs will have some great fall shooting.

Roland King

ATA Delegate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.